Skip to content

A look at what’s planned… Or just what’s going on here?

September 28, 2009

Well, if you haven’t read the “about” page, then here’s the lowdown on just what’s going on here.  A few months ago I was cast in a play for Theatre Huntsville.  The play was “You Can’t Take It With You” and I accepted into the role of the fireworks loving Paul.  It was the first time I’d been on stage since Feb of 2007 when I did a show for Fantasy Playhouse.

I hadn’t been entirely absent from local theatre, but since around 2003 I’d taken a decided step back from it.  that’s when my first child arrived, and if you’ve had kids you know what its like.  I had a lot of fun with the thing this last time around, and I’m pretty sure I’ll be involved more often as time goes on.

But more importantly for this blog/podcast, doing the show allowed me to spend a bit of time with Leslie, the president of Theatre Huntsville.  We got on the topic of podcasts, and how she thought Theatre Huntsville needed one, but how it needed to be more than just Theatre Huntsville, but really a community outreach kind of thing involving community theater, with the emphasis on community.

She hemmed and hawed a bit, not sure exactly how to get it started or where to take it.  She wasn’t even sure that the board would go for it.  Or if they would go for it, who would do it.  She seemed exceedingly excited about the idea, but not really about the execution.

So I mentioned that I had done the research and had started to do a podcast once before.  The plan was to do a show about an unrelated topic (home haunting for Halloween) but that didn’t change that I knew about podcasting.  I talked about how easy it would be to do one, since I already had a studio set up for my earlier idea.  We got to talking about it for a bit, but really, the question of who would do it, and how it would be run seemed a continuing issue.

I had to go back inside the theater, and as we ended the conversation, Leslie just looked at me and said “You should just do it.” And so I am.  So I’m not doing this as a “Theatre Huntsville” podcast, but a Huntsville Theater podcast.  While the genesis is with Theatre Huntsville, as was my first foray into local community theater, I’ve done things for just about every organization in town, and will continue to do so through this podcast.

So if you have an idea for a show, or an idea for a podcast… let me know.  If you have someone you’d like to see interviewed, let me know.  If you have a show coming up, or an audition, or whatever you think would make a good addition to the show, then let me know.

And please, tell your friends about the show.  Subscribe and listen.  Look, I know most of your theatre types have iPhones now, so there’s no excuse not to have the latest Beyond The Board podcast handy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

